You’re rolling down a lonely stretch of rural interstate and get pulled over by a police car. Even though you thought you were going a reasonable speed, the highway patrolman tells you his radar gun says you were going over 100 miles per hour.
What to do? You might want to hire a lawyer to help straighten things out.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) assesses points against your license for moving violations. Speeding 15 – 18 MPH over the limit will get you docked 2 points, 19 – 23 over is 3 points, 24 – 33 over is 4 points, and 34+ is 6 points. If you accrue 15 points on your license over a 24 month period, your license will be suspended. What’s more, drivers convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph and above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia will also be hit with a $200 “Super Speeder” fee over and above the speeding fines levied by the county where the violation occurred. Beyond any fines that the driver may face, any speeding conviction of 15+ MPH over the speed limit will be reported and will likely result in increased insurance premiums for years – according to Insurance.com, going 30 over the limit leads to 15% higher rates, on average.
If you’re facing the prospect of hefty fines and premium increases, you should consult a lawyer about whether you have any options for damage control – in many circumstances, it may be possible to reduce or eliminate license points, speeding fines and insurance issues.
As for my client who got pinged going (allegedly) 101 miles an hour in I-20? He took a defensive driving class prior to his court date, and I helped him negotiate his speeding ticket down to 14 MPH over the limit, neatly eliminating the Super Speeder violation, reducing license points and preventing his insurer from finding out about the entire incident.